Professor Al Bovik recently received a $300K grant from the National Science Foundation entitled Quality Assessment of Natural Videos. The research proposed by Dr.

PhD candidate Shobha Vasudevan has accepted an offer from the University of Illinois for an assistant professor position.

Dr. Lizy John was awarded a $300K grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for research on using workload characterization to predict computer system performance.

Professor Ted Rappaport has been elected to the IEEE Communications Society (Com Soc) Board of Governors.

Margarida Jacome passed away on the morning of Friday, May 25th, having battled against cancer for several months.

In the past 3 years, the Edison Lecture Series has inspired and informed almost 14,000 middle and high school students.