Jeffrey Andrews

Jeffrey Andrews

The Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professor in Engineering #1

Jeffrey Andrews received the B.S. in Engineering with High Distinction from Harvey Mudd College, and the M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University.  He is the Cullen Trust Endowed Professor (#1) of ECE at the University of Texas at Austin, Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and Technical Program Co-Chair of IEEE Globecom 2014. He developed Code Division Multiple Access systems at Qualcomm from 1995-97, and has consulted for entities including Verizon, the WiMAX Forum, Intel, Microsoft, Apple, Samsung, Clearwire, Sprint, and NASA.  He is a member of the Technical Advisory Boards of Accelera and Fastback Networks, and co-author of two books: Fundamentals of WiMAX (Prentice-Hall, 2007) and Fundamentals of LTE (Prentice-Hall, 2010). 

Dr. Andrews received the National Science Foundation CAREER award in 2007 and has been co-author of ten best paper award recipients: ICC 2013, Globecom 2006 and 2009, Asilomar 2008, European Wireless 2014, the 2010 IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award, the 2011 IEEE Heinrich Hertz Prize, the 2014 EURASIP Best Paper Award, the 2014 IEEE Stephen O. Rice Prize, and the 2014 IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize.  He is an IEEE Fellow and an elected member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Information Theory Society.

Research Interests: 

Wireless Communication
Information Theory
Communication Theory
Stochastic Geometry


UTA 7.514


(512) 471-6500

Support Staff: