Skip to main content

Dr. Al Bovik Receives IEEE Signal Processing Society 2013 Society Award

UT ECE professor Dr. Al Bovik has been named the recipient of the IEEE Signal Processing Society  2013 Society Award for "fundamental contributions to digital image processing theory, technology, leadership and education." The Society Award honors outstanding technical contributions in a field within the scope of the Signal Processing Society and outstanding leadership within that field.

In addition to receiving the Society Award, Dr. Bovik was author on two IEEE Signal Procssing Best Papers for 2013. 

Dr. Bovik received the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine Best Paper Award of the IEEE Signal Processing Society for 2013, for the paper “Mean squared error: Love it or leave it? ― A new look at signal fidelity measures,” IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, vol. 26, no. 1, pp. 98-117, January 2009. The paper was co-authored with Zhou Wang.

In addition, Dr. Bovik co-authored a paper with Kalpana Seshadrinathan, formerly of WNCG, which received the IEEE Signal Processing Society Young Author Best Paper Award for 2013, for the paper “Motion tuned spatio-temporal quality assessment of natural videos,” IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, vol. 19, no. 2, pp. 335-350, February 2010.