Skip to main content

Know Your Professor Outside the Lab with Prof. Jean Anne Incorvia

Virtual Seminar

Thursday, March 11, 2021

Location: Zoom

Join us as our ECE faculty Prof. Jean Anne Incorvia, recollects her academic experiences as a student and researcher, at UC Berkeley, Harvard, MIT, and Stanford. In addition, she would share insights on choosing an academic career along with her current research interests. Don’t miss the Q&A as well as the raffle prize! 

Biography – Prof. Jean Anne C. Incorvia is an Assistant Professor and holds the Fellow of Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Chair in Computer Engineering in the Department of ECE at The University of Texas at Austin, where she directs the Integrated Nano Computing (INC) Lab. Dr. Incorvia develops practical nanodevices for the future of computing using emerging physics and materials. This includes research in spintronics (electronics that uses magnetism & spin to encode information), both fundamental and applied nano-magnetism, bio-inspired neuromorphic computing, in-memory computing devices and circuits, quantum computing, radiation-hard materials & devices, and the intersection of low-dimensional (2D) materials & spintronics. 

Dr. Incorvia received her Ph.D. in physics from Harvard University in 2015, cross-registered at MIT. From 2015-2017, she completed a postdoc at Stanford University in the department of electrical engineering, working in nanoelectronics. She received her bachelor’s in physics from UC Berkeley in 2008. She has over 45 articles published or under-review in peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, has led 2 patents, and has given over 30 invited talks. She received the 2020 US National Science Foundation CAREER award and the 2020 IEEE Magnetics Society Early Career Award, both highly competitive awards in her field. She was an invited contributor to the 2020 IEEE International Roadmap for Devices and Systems (IDRS), the main document to predict the future of electronics. She is leading a multi-PI collaboration with Sandia National Laboratories and has received funding from 6 National Science Foundation and 2 Department of Energy grants as of 2020. She is serving on the administrative committee of the IEEE Magnetics Society, as well as having served on multiple conference committees, including the International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), the Device Research Conference (DRC), the Magnetism and Magnetic Materials Conference (MMM), and Intermag. 

Student Organizations: IEEE Graduate Student Chapter (IEEE-TEMS)