Skip to main content

ECE Honors 2019-2020 Award Winners

ECE Honors 2019-2020 Award Winners

Texas ECE held a Virtual Honors event on Wednesday, May 20 to honor students and faculty for their successes and contributions during the 2019-2020 academic year.

The keynote address was given by Texas ECE alumnus Sanjay Chandra. Sanjay now serves as a principal and managing partner at Trinity and its affiliated companies in a variety of roles and responsibilities on a full time and active basis. In addition to his day to day role at Trinity, Sanjay serves as a board member for American Leather, which he co-founded in 1990, and where he was formerly president and CFO.  He also serves as chairman of Freedom Powersports LLC, and board member at Robokind LLC, Utopia Global Inc., and Bentwood Kitchens Inc.  Further, Sanjay serves as an Engineering Advisory Board member for the Cockrell School of Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. Graduating with highest honors in 1987 from the University of Texas at Austin, Sanjay received a bachelor’s of science in electrical and computer engineering.

Here is a list of this year's award winners:

Capstone Design Award Winners

Videos of projects can be viewed here

First Place - Entrepreneurial Category

Team E5 - Tappy Feet

Amogh Agnihotri
Reese Costis
Melanie Feng
Caleb Kovatch
Luca Tomescu
David Yuan

First Place - Industry Category

Team I16 - Wireless Sleep Monitor

Adam Ali
Andrew Han
Rabia Khan
David Lok
Brooke Paxman
Nithanth Ram
Kayla Tran

Industry Partner: Texas Instruments
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Nan Sun

Second Place - Industry Category

Team I12: Wearable sensors to detect an adrenaline rush

Khalid Ahmad
Evan Davis
Sebastian Guillen Vargas
Kenneth Lin
Felipe Palacios
Nicholas Requa
Pengcheng Xu

Industry Partner: Nokia
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Jacob Abraham

Third Place - Industry Category

Team I4: Dell-EMC Self Securing Servers

Amber Klepser
Celine Lillie
Eric Luo
Nicanor Muzquiz
Anirban Sarkar
Harry Suh Schneider
Jaedin Switzer

Industry Partner: Dell
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Ray Chen

First Place - Honors Category

Team H8: Undergraduate Teaching Platform

Rahul Butani
Amr El-Azizi
David Gipson
Pranav Rama
David Rollins
Jerry Yang
Jerry Zhang

Faculty Mentors: Dr. Mattan Erez and Dr. Andreas Gerstlauer

Second Place - Honors Category

Team H14: Self Monitor for Reducing Stress Levels

Matthew Barondeau
Harini Cherupalla
Matthew Davis
Angelos Geor Koulouras
Sneha Pendharkar
Neha Shah

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Emily Porter

Third Place - Honors Category

Team H2: Privacy Check

Safa Anya
Alexander Issa
Jake Nimergood
Isabelle Rogers
Vinay Shah
Ayush Srivastava

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Suzanne Barber

Top Teaching Awards

Awarded to outstanding students serving as teaching assistants in the 2019-2020 academic year.

First Place

Rave Rajan
EE 319K - Intro to Embedded Systems

Second Place

Grace Zhuang 
EE 306 - Intro to Computing

Third Place

Jamie Barber
EE 333T - Engineering Communications


Yunseong Cho
EE 445S - Real-Time Digital Signal Processing Lab


Texas ECE IEEE Grad Student Branch Excellence Award

The award is given to an IEEE Grad Student member who has exhibited exemplary leadership through the organization. 

Rachel Selina Rajarathnam


Texas ECE Graduate Leadership Award

This award is given annually in recognition of excellence in leadership to a student graduating from UT ECE with an MS or PhD within this academic year.

Grace Zhuang


Texas ECE Graduate Top Achiever

This award is given annually to the top-achieving student graduating with an MS or PhD degree within this academic year.

Shuang Song


Dr. Beer Endowment for Student Excellence Awards

This award is for juniors and seniors majoring in ECE who demonstrate excellence in written and spoken communications.

Mohit Gupta
Victoria “Tori” Isom
Zane Freeman
Flannery Thompson


Writing Flag Awards

The 2020 School of Undergraduate Studies Writing Flag Award honors the best writing produced by UT undergraduates in courses carrying the Writing Flag. Prizes were awarded to student work that best demonstrates clarity, inventiveness, and intellectual rigor. These awards were selected across all majors.

First Place: Research: Lab Category

Nikhil Arora & Darius Zinolabedini

Second Place: Research: Lab Category

Ahmad Ahbab


IEEE Undergraduate UT Austin Branch Scholarships

These scholarships are granted to IEEE undergraduate students who have exhibited exemplary leadership through the organization. 

Filipe Rubenstein
Niruti Dhoble


Texas ECE Undergraduate Leadership Award

The Texas ECE Undergraduate Leadership Award is awarded annually in recognition of excellence in leadership.

Simon Kliewer


Texas ECE Undergraduate Top Achiever Award

The Texas ECE Undergraduate Top Achiever distinction is awarded annually to the top-achieving undergraduate student graduating with an MSEE during the academic year.

Brendan Ngo


Faculty Awards

Selected by the Undergraduate Advisory Board

Best Class Structure

Ramesh Yerraballi

Most Compassionate Professor

Vivek Telang

Most Engaging Professor

Nina Telang

Most Outstanding ECE Organization


Student’s Choice 2020 (selected live during the event)

Ramesh Yerraballi