Skip to main content

Fall 2012 Senior Design Open House Winners Announced

The University of Texas at Austin Electrical and Computer Engineering Department (UT ECE), a top-ranked department, provides a unique opportunity and a supportive environment for academic/industry partnership through our Senior Design Projects. This capstone coursework provides academic excellence as well as key corporate benefits as teams focus on solving open-ended problems submitted by industrial collaborators.

Companies partner with faculty and student teams, providing funding, equipment, industry expertise, and mentoring as the team works toward a successful outcome to the problem. Students are responsible for delivering a working prototype with documentation, a system design report, and two interim and one final oral presentations. Industry, student and faculty efforts culminate at the end of the course at the Senior Design Open House.

Industry sponsors for projects beginning in Fall 2012 include ARM, Qualcomm, Texas Instruments, Schlumberger, and Intel.

UT ECE congratulates the students, faculty and industry collaborators on the successful completion of the EE 464 coursework and project. Awards for the Senior Design Contest were presented by Dr. Michael Becker on November 28, 2012 during the Fall Senior Design Open House.

UT ECE is deeply appreciative of our industrial collaborators, whose expertise and support makes these projects successful and meaningful.

All Winners:

First Place
Wireless Signal strength Meter
James Boriack, Kevin Cross, John Ruiz, Kenneth Yang
Faculty Mentor: Dr. David Z. Pan

Second Place
Wireless Communication Prototyping
Alice Biray, Sushen Patel, Howard Tsai, Alexander Wang
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Robert Heath

Third Place
Brandon Carson, Yi Feng, Ang Li, Jeffrey Peng, Rejo Titus
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Robert Flake, Dr. T.R. Viswanathan

Fourth Place
Solar Panel 3-Phase Motor Drive
Conner Beadr, Jesus Contreras OCana, Eduardo Gomez, Yen-Shen Juan, Daniel Santa Maria
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Ross Baldick

Fifth Place
Quality Assessment of Images and Videos
Brandon Chen, Na Chen, Jenny Huynh, Dorian Johnson, Janice Pan
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Alan Bovik

Sixth Place
Scouring the Internet for Missing Kids
Patrick Guevera, John Isturiz, Windter Pan, Noah Pierce, Nicholas Ramirez
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Brian Evans

View pictures of the winners and event on Flickr.