Skip to main content

National Academy of Engineering honors Prof. Vijay Janapa Reddi with Gilbreth Lectureship

Prof. Vijay Janapa Reddi is a recipient of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) Gilbreth Lectureship honor. He received this honor at the 2016 NAE National Meeting that was held on February 11, 2016 in Irvine, California. At this event, he was awarded for his outstanding contributions to the field of electrical and computer engineering and his presentation of the lecture on energy efficiency and mobile computing.

The Gilbreth Lectures were established in 2001 by the Council of the National Academy of Engineering as a means of recognizing outstanding young American engineers and making them more visible to the NAE membership. Recipients of the lectureships are nominated from the Frontiers of Engineering program and have the opportunity to make presentations at NAE’s fall Annual Meetings and spring National Meetings. The Gilbreth Lectureships are named in honor of Lillian Gilbreth, the first woman elected to the National Academy of Engineering (1965) and a pioneer in the field of Human Factors.

Prof. Janapa Reddi is an Assistant Professor at UT ECE. He received a BS in computer engineering from Santa Clara University, an MS in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Colorado at Boulder, and a Ph.D. in computer science from Harvard University.

His research interests span the definition of computer architecture, including software design and optimization, to enhance mobile quality-of-experience and improve the energy-efficiency of high-performance computing systems. Prof. Janapa Reddi is a recipient of the IEEE Computer Society TCCA Young Computer Architect Award (2016), Intel Early Career Award (2013) and multiple Google Faculty Research Awards (2012, 2013, 2015). He is also the recipient of the Best Paper at the 2005 International Symposium on Microarchitecture, Best Paper at the 2009 International Symposium on High-Performance Computer Architecture, and IEEE’s Top Picks in Computer Architecture awards (2006, 2010, 2011).