Skip to main content

Prof. Andrea Alù and Prof. David Pan Named SPIE Fellows

Andrea Alù and David Pan, professors at Texas ECE, have been elected to the grade of fellow of the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE). SPIE is an international society advancing an interdisciplinary approach to the science and application of light. The society advances emerging technologies through interdisciplinary information exchange, continuing education, publications, and patent precedent.

Each year, SPIE promotes members as new Fellows of the Society. Fellows are members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging. They are honored for their technical achievement, for their service to the general optics community, and to SPIE in particular. Prof. Alù was recognized for “achievements in optical metamaterials and plasmonics,” and Prof. Pan was recognized for “achievements in IC design for manufacturing with advanced lithography.” SPIE will honor 71 new Fellows of the Society this year.

Andrea Alù holds the Temple Foundation Endowed Professorship No. 3. He is the recipient of numerous awards including the Kavli Foundation Early Career Lectureship in Materials Science (2016), the Simons Investigators in Physics award (2016), the National Science Foundation Waterman Award (2015), the URSI Issac Koga Gold Medal (2011), an NSF CAREER award (2010), the AFOSR Young Investigator Award (2010), and the the Leopold B. Felsen Award for Excellence in Electrodynamics (2008). Alu is the co-author of over 400 scientific contributions published in international books, journals, transactions and peer-reviewed conference proceedings and is the co-inventor of three US Patents related to his research. 

David Pan holds the Engineering Foundation Endowed Professorship #1 and is an IEEE Fellow. He has published over 250 technical papers in refereed journals and conferences, and is the holder of 8 U.S. patents. Pan has received a number of awards and honors including the 2013 SRC Technical Excellence Award, DAC Top 10 Author in Fifth Decade, DAC Prolific Author Award, ASP-DAC Frequently Cited Author Award, 13 Best Paper Awards, Communications of the ACM Research Highlights (2014), ACM/SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award (2005), NSF CAREER Award (2007), and the UT Austin RAISE Faculty Excellence Award (2014). He has also been the recipient of the IBM Faculty Award four times and the SRC Inventor Recognition Award three times.