Skip to main content

Prof. Andrea Alù Named Recipient of ACS Photonics Young Investigator Award and Lectureship

Prof. Andrea Alù has been named the recipient of the inaugural ACS Photonics Young Investigator Award and Lectureship from the American Chemical Society (ACS). The award “honors the contributions of one individual, within the first 5-10 years of an independent research career, who has made major impacts on the field of photonics.”

Prof. Alù will receive the award and be the plenary speaker at META’16, the 7th International Conference on Metamaterials, Photonic Crystals and Plasmonics, in Malaga, Spain in July 2016.

Prof. Alù holds the David and Doris Lybarger Endowed Faculty Fellowship in Engineering and is an associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin.

Alù was awarded the prestigious NSF Waterman award in 2015, and he was recently elected Fellow of the American Physical Society. He is a past recipient of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Microwave Theory and Techniques Society’s Outstanding Young Engineer Award (2014), the International Union of Pure Applied Physics Young Scientist Prize in Optics (2013), The Optical Society’s Adolph Lomb Medal (2013), the International Union of Radio Science’s Issac Koga Gold Medal (2011), the NSF CAREER Award (2010), the Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award (2010) and the Leopold B. Felsen Award for Excellence in Electrodynamics (2008).