Skip to main content

Prof. Jacob Abraham Receives 2017 Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing

Jacob Abraham, Texas ECE professor, has received the 2017 Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing. Since 2012, the award has been given annually by the IFIP Working Group 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance, in honor of the late Jean-Claude Laprie. According to its charter, the group intends to honor outstanding papers that have significantly influenced the theory and/or practice of Dependable Computing. Abraham is being recognized for the paper “Algorithm Based Fault Tolerance for Matrix Operations, “IEEE Transactions on Computers, Vol. C-33, No. 6, 00. 518-528, June 1984. The paper was co-authored by colleague Kuang-Hua Huang. Abraham will receive the award at the upcoming 47th annual IEEE/IFIP Dependable Systems and Networks Conference (DSN), to be held June 26-29 in Denver, Colorado. The DSN is widely regarded as the most prestigious international forum for presenting research results in the field of dependable computing.

Jacob Abraham holds the Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering #8 and is director of the Computer Engineering Research Center. His research interests include VLSI design and test, formal verification, and fault-tolerant computing. He is the principal investigator of several contracts and grants in these areas, and a consultant to industry and government on testing and fault-tolerant computing. He has over 300 publications, and has been included in a list of the most cited researchers in the world. Professor Abraham has also been elected Fellow of the IEEE as well as Fellow of the ACM, and is the recipient of the 2005 IEEE Emanuel R. Piore Award.