Skip to main content

Prof. Yale Patt receives 2016 SigMicro Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Yale Patt, professor at Texas ECE, has received the 2016 SigMicro Distinguished Service Award. SigMicro, the ACM Special Interest Group on Microarchitecture, specializes in computer microarchitecture, and particularly in features permitting instruction- level parallelism and their related implications on compiler design. The award was presented at Micro-49, the 49th annual IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Microarchitecture, earlier this month in Taipei. The award recognizes an individual serving as an active member of SIGMICRO who has contributed significantly to SIGMICRO and provided important service to the processor microarchitecture and microsystems community. Yale is the the third recipient of this award.

Professor Patt holds the Ernest Cockrell, Jr. Centennial Chair in Engineering and title of University Distinguished Teaching Professor. He has served on the Steering Committee for IEEE/ACM MICRO since 1986, and served as General Chair of the flagship conference MICRO-21 in 1988 and MICRO-34 in 2001. He also tops the Hall of Fame of MICRO authors with 46 papers published. Patt was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2014 and has received numerous awards including the 1995 IEEE Emanuel R. Piore Medal, the 1999 IEEE W.W. McDowell Award, the 2005 IEEE Charles Babbage Award, the 2011 IEEE B. Ramakrishna Rau Award, and the 2013 IEEE Computer Society Harry H. Goode Memorial Award.