Skip to main content

Four Texas ECE Faculty Named Highly Cited Researchers

Jeff Andrews, François Baccelli, Alan Bovik, and Robert Heath, professors at Texas ECE, have been recognized as Highly Cited Researchers for 2018. The Highly Cited Researchers from Clarivate Analytics (formerly the IP and Science business of Thomson Reuters) is a list released annually that recognizes researchers from around the globe leading the way in the field of sciences and social sciences, and represents some of the “world’s most influential scientific minds.” Highly Cited Papers are surveyed over an 11-year period from journals indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection and rank in the top 1% by citations according to their Essential Science Indicators field and publication year. Data used to determine the selection of HCR came from ESI, 2004-2014, and included 128,887 Highly Cited Papers.

Dr. Jeffrey Andrews holds the Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professor in Engineering #1. He received the National Science Foundation CAREER award in 2007 and has been co-author of fourteen best paper award recipients including the 2016 IEEE Communications Society & Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2011 and 2016 IEEE Heinrich Hertz Prize, the 2014 IEEE Stephen O. Rice Prize, and the 2014 and 2018 IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize.  He received the 2015 Terman Award, is an IEEE Fellow, and is an elected member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Information Theory Society. He received the 2019 IEEE Kio Tomiyasu Award in conjunction with Prof. Heath.

Dr. François Baccelli hold the Simons Simons Chair in Mathematics and Electrical and Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. His work involves both the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering as well as the Department of Mathematics. Dr. Baccelli is a member of the French Academy of Sciences and a cutting edge researcher at the intersection of mathematics, telecommunications, and information theory.

Dr. Alan Bovik holds the Cockrell Family Endowed Regents Chair in Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, where he is Director of the Laboratory for Image and Video Engineering (LIVE). Dr. Bovik is the recipient of the 2019 IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing “For seminal contributions and high-impact innovations to the theory and application of perception-based image and video processing.” This Technical Field Award and medal is one of the highest honors accorded by the 423,000-member IEEE. He received Television’s highest honor, a Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Achievement in Engineering Development from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (The Television Academy) in October 2015, for his work on the development of video quality prediction models which have become standard tools in broadcast and post-production houses throughout the television industry. He received the 2017 Edwin H. Land Medal from the Optical Society “For substantially shaping the direction and advancement of modern perceptual image quality theory, and for energetically engaging industry to transform his ideas into global practice.” 

Dr. Robert Heath holds the Cullen Trust for Higher Education Professorship in Engineering #6. He is Director of the UT Situation-Aware Vehicular Engineering Systems initiative; and CEO of MIMO Wireless Inc., a consulting company focusing on multiple antenna wireless communication systems. Heath is the author of two books, co-author of one book and the recipient of numerous best paper awards including recently the 2016 IEEE Communications Society & Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award and the 2017 IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Communications. He is recognized as a highly cited researcher in computer science. He was named as a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors in 2017, is a Fellow of the IEEE, and is an elected member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society Board of Governors. He received the 2019 IEEE Kio Tomiyasu Award in conjunction with Prof. Andrews.

All four are members of the Wireless Communications and Networking Group at Texas ECE.