Skip to main content

Prof. Sanjay Shakkottai and Prof. Mohit Tiwari Receive 2018 Qualcomm Faculty Awards

Prof. Mohit Tiwari and Prof. Sanjay Shakkottai, Texas ECE professors, have received 2018 Qualcomm Faculty Awards. This is the second consecutive year to be awarded the honor for both professors. Qualcomm encourages partnerships among engineers from hardware, software, and systems maintain close relationships with key universities to keep track of their latest discoveries and facilitate new collaborations. The Qualcomm Faculty Award (QFA) is one of the programs that the company uses to support key professors and their research at leading universities identified by the company.

Sanjay Shakkottai

Sanjay Shakkottai is a professor at Texas ECE and holds the Ashley H. Priddy Centennial Professorship in Engineering. He received the NSF CAREER award in 2004 and was elected as an IEEE Fellow in 2014. His current research interests include network architectures, algorithms and performance analysis for wireless networks, and learning and inference over social networks.


Mohit Tiwari

Mohit Tiwari is an assistant professor at Texas ECE. His current research focuses on building secure systems, all the way from hardware to system software to applications that run on them. Tiwari and his team have designed and built the first secure processor that obfuscates all digital signal outputs, including even addresses to physical memory.  Tiwari received a PhD from UC Santa Barbara (2011) and was a post-doctoral fellow at UC Berkeley (2011-13) before joining UT.