Skip to main content

Texas ECE Students Win Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship

QIF Fellows 2023

Erika Susana Alcorta and Matthew Barondeau of Texas ECE have been named winners of 2023 Qualcomm Innovation Fellowships for North America. The QIF program "is focused on recognizing, rewarding, and mentoring innovative PhD students across a broad range of technical research areas, based on Qualcomm’s core values of innovation, execution and teamwork. QIF enables graduate students to be mentored by our engineers and supports them in their quest towards achieving their research goals."

Their project, "Proactive ML-Based Runtime Management of Heterogeneous MPSoCs," was one of 18 winning projects. They are supervised by Prof. Andreas Gerstlauer.

This is the fourth consecutive year that Texas ECE students received Qualcomm Innovation Fellowships. In 2022, three teams from Texas ECE received QIF Awards. In 2021, Akash Doshi and Manan Gupta, supervised by Prof. Jeffrey Andrews, won for their project "Federated Generative Learning for Channel Estimation in mmWave and THz." In 2020, the team of Khurram Mazher and Andrew Graff, supervised by Prof. Robert Heath, won for their project "Radar-to-radar Interference: System Level Analysis and Solutions."