Professor Ray Chen received an Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) award worth 4.75 million dollars. Dr.

R. Gary Daniels—ECE adjunct professor since 1999 and strong friend of ECE since his days as Senior VP at Motorola—was recently named an ECE Fellow for his service to the department.

ECE's External Advisory Committee recognized Professor Gary Hallock with the annual High Gain Award.

Professor Hao Ling and his team are developing algorithms that would use radar to detect human activities inside an enclosed space, such as inside a building.

The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) announced that two of UT-ECE's assistant professors have been awarded 2008 Young Faculty Awards.

Professor Sanjay Banerjee was named a 2007 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society.