ECE Welcome Town Hall

Special Event
Monday, August 31, 2020
2:00 PM to 3:00 PM
Join via Zoom
Open to ALL current Texas ECE students

All current ECE students are invited to join ECE Department Chair, Dr. Diana Marculescu, for this Town Hall meeting. Kick off ECE Welcome Week with an overview of ECE's goals, programs, and initiatives going into the 2020-2021 academic year. Bring constructive feedback, questions, and concerns.

We will hold two identical Town Halls on Monday, 8/31 (at 10 AM and 2 PM), and all current Texas ECE students are invited to join whichever ONE works best in their schedules. Students do not need to attend both.

Current students look for Zoom access details via Canvas.




Diana Marculescu

Dr. Diana Marculescu

Department Chair & Motorola Regents Chair in Electrical & Computer Engineering #2
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin

Diana Marculescu is Department Chair, Cockrell Family Chair for Engineering Leadership #5, and Professor, Motorola Regents Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering #2, at the University of Texas at Austin. Prior to joining UT Austin in December 2019, she was the David Edward Schramm Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the Founding Director of the College of Engineering Center for Faculty Success (2015-2019) and has served as Associate Department Head for Academic Affairs in Electrical and Computer Engineering (2014-2018), all at Carnegie Mellon University. She received the Dipl.Ing. degree in computer science from the Polytechnic University of Bucharest, Bucharest, Romania (1991), and the Ph.D. degree in computer engineering from the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA (1998). Her research interests include energy- and reliability-aware computing, hardware aware machine learning, and computing for sustainability and natural science applications. Diana was a recipient of the National Science Foundation Faculty Career Award (2000-2004), the ACM SIGDA Technical Leadership Award (2003), the Carnegie Institute of Technology George Tallman Ladd Research Award (2004), and several best paper awards. She was an IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Distinguished Lecturer (2004-2005) and the Chair of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Design Automation (2005-2009). Diana chaired several conferences and symposia in her area and is currently an Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Computers. She was selected as an ELATE Fellow (2013-2014), and is the recipient of an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship (2013-2017), the Marie R. Pistilli Women in EDA Achievement Award (2014), and the Barbara Lazarus Award from Carnegie Mellon University (2018). Diana is a Fellow of ACM and IEEE.