UT ECE Student Jyotirmoy Deshmukh Named 2010 Computing Innovation Fellow

Wednesday, July 21, 2010 - 7:00pm

Jyotirmoy Vinay Deshmukh, a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering has been named a 2010 Computing Innovation Fellow by the Computing Research Association (CRA) and the Computing Community Consortium (CCC).

The CIFellows project, a joint CRA/CCC program, funded by the National Science Foundation, is an opportunity for recent and upcoming Ph.D. graduates in computer science and closely related fields to obtain one- to two-year postdoctoral positions at universities, industrial research laboratories, and other organizations that advance the field of computing.

Deshmukh is expected to get his Ph.D. degree at the end of Summer 2010. His dissertation focuses on formal verification of software His advisor is Prof. E. Allen Emerson (Department of Computer Science), and he is co-advised by Prof. Adnan Aziz (ECE). His research interests are in the applications of automata theory, model checking, temporal logic and static and program analyses towards the automatic verification, debugging, synthesis and repair of software.

He is the recipient of the ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award at the IEEE/ACM International Conference on Automated Software Engineering (ASE 2009) for his paper on symbolic deadlock analysis in concurrent libraries. He is also the recipient of the ETAPS 2010 Best Paper Award by the European Association for Programming Languages and Systems (EAPLS) for his paper on the automatic synthesis of concurrency control for libraries. This paper was presented at the European Symposium on Programming (ESOP 2010). With his CIFellows Award, he will continue his research in the area of formal software verification at the University of Pennsylvania, with Prof. Rajeev Alur as his mentor.