Deji Akinwande

Deji Akinwande, Texas ECE Associate Professor, has received the Friedrich Bessel Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The award is presented to internationally renowned academics from outside Germany in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments in research to date and their exceptional promise for future endeavors.


Prof. Yale Patt of Texas ECE has been named the recipient of the 2017 Friar Centennial Teaching Fellowship (FCTF). The Friar Society, the university’s oldest and most prestigious honor society, awards the Friar Centennial Teaching Fellowship annually to one outstanding undergraduate professor and celebrates excellence in undergraduate teaching.

Al Bovik

Prof. Al Bovik has been named the recipient of the 2017 Edwin H. Land Medal awarded by The Optical Society (OSA), co-sponsored by the Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T).


Jette Henderson and Ryan Bridges have been awarded the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) Distinguished Clinical Research Informatics Award for their work “PheKnow-Cloud: A Tool for Evaluating High-Throughput Phenotype Candidates using Online Medical Literature.” 

Duy Le

Duy-Loan Le is one of four honorees that will be inducted in the 2017 Asian Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 13th in Seattle, WA. The Asian Hall of Fame was founded in 2004 to honor achievement, inspire the next generation, and build the national community of Asian Pacific Americans. 

Wuxi Li

Wuxi Li has placed first in the 2017 ACM International Symposium on Physical Design (ISPD) Contest with his project Clock-Aware FPGA Placement.


David Soloveichik, Texas ECE assistant professor, has received a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award for his work on "Robust molecular computation: error-correcting reaction networks and leakless DNA circuits."